Which MBTI type best suits different activities and hobbies?

Certainly, it could be said that some activities are both more suited for, and more enjoyed by, certain MBTI types. For example, activities in the arts are generally more suited for feeling types, whereas more logical activities are generally associated with thinking types. Please remember these are generalizations- do not give up your dreams because your type does not match up with the activity listed. Without further ado, here is the list of different activities and the type they are best associated to:

  • Chess- INTP
  • Jigsaw puzzles- ISTP
  • Photography- ISFP
  • Artistic Photography- INFP
  • Acting- ESFP
  • Singing- ESFP
  • Musician- ESFP
  • Directing- ENFP
  • Film Editing- ENFP
  • Gardening- ESFJ
  • Stamp collecting- ISTJ
  • Reading newspaper- ISTJ
  • Reading magazines- ISFJ
  • Watching movies- INFJ
  • Playing video games- INTP
  • Fixing/repairing cars, pipes, anything- ISTP
  • Building- ESTP
  • Writing stories- INFP
  • Skating- ESTP
  • Surfing- ESTP
  • Sports- ESTP
  • Fashion Designing- ENFP
  • Hairdresser/barber- ISFJ
  • Magic tricks- INTP
  • Strategic games- INTJ
  • Painting/drawing- ISFP
  • Praying- INFJ
  • Cooking- ESFJ
  • Cleaning- ISFJ
  • Charities- ENFJ
  • Army work- ESTJ
  • Comedian- ENTP
  • Leading- ENTJ
  • Taekwondoe- ENTJ
  • Skipping- ESTP
  • Hop scotch- ESFP
  • Archery- ISTJ
  • Bowling- ISTJ
  • Camping- ESTP
  • Yoga- ISFP
  • Sailing- ISTJ
  • Fishing- ISTP
  • Scrapbooking- INFJ
  • Leading activities- ENTJ
  • Playing circle games- ENFJ
  • LARPing- ENTP
  • Kiteflying- ESFP
  • Cycling- ISFJ
  • Cosplaying- INFP
  • Hula-hooping- ESFP
  • Tug-of-war- ENTJ
  • Learning foreign language- INFJ
  • Gambling- ENTP
  • Juggling- ISTJ
  • Lego building- INTJ
  • Knitting- ISFJ

I hope you enjoyed the article! If you didn’t have enough examples for your type, then let me know in the comments as I shall continue to update this list! What other activities did I leave out? Comment some and I shall add these to the list within a short time period after you have commented!๐Ÿ™‚

Also, follow this site on the newly formed Facebook page and Twitter page so you can keep updated and help expand the MBTI theory

About tatl33

Hello, my name is Tim! I am an INFJ interested in psychology currently residing in Australia. My aim is to provide you with information on MBTI and how it can be related to real life situations. Enjoy :)
This entry was posted in ENFJ, ENFP, ENTJ, ENTP, ESFJ, ESFP, ESTJ, ESTP, INFJ, INFP, INTJ, INTP, ISFJ, ISFP, ISTJ, ISTP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Which MBTI type best suits different activities and hobbies?

  1. Jeroen says:

    Lego building INTJ? Perhaps I should get some lego blocks๐Ÿ˜€

    It’d have been nice if the list was made in such a way you could read the thing and then guess at the type. At least for me the type is to close, so I cannot read the thing without seeing the type.

    • tatl33 says:

      Oh… That’s a good idea. I’m interesting in seeing if there is some way I can do that! I’ll test around and edit with it and see if I can!๐Ÿ™‚

    • tatl33 says:

      Sorry dude, couldn’t find it! It’s late at night here so I’ll have a second check tomorrow when I’m more refreshed. Hopefully I can find some sort of ‘hover over for answer’ option

  2. Cassie says:

    This definitely fits my mom and I. Good Job๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ahamed says:

    ENFP hobbies – Collecting greatest movies,books and songs (Only the best ones) from 50,000 Items.

  4. Ahamed says:

    One idea for next topics – Frequently used words/expressions by each MBTI Types, Type of books read by each MBTI Types,Type of humor enjoyed by each MBTI Types

  5. quattrohands says:

    ENTJ – Surprised by the Tug-of-War. As an ENTJ, I am interested in winning; generally like to lead by example and choose sports based on how I can win by relying on ME. These are usually solo sports that can be done with / near others, e.g. biking, backpacking, cross-country skiing, etc. I avoid sports teams. I do like LEADING teams, groups, conversations so I totally appreciate the other activities on the list:-)

  6. Kelly says:

    Bravo for your article, I find that it is well to my type (ISfp) I like very much the photography, and the painting ^^ but I also like very much the video games.

  7. J.Lee says:

    The biggest hobby you’re missing for ENTJ would be discussions/debates.
    I would also argue and say that it’d be hard to press hobbies on any particular type. Really, it would be more on how each type responds within their hobby. As an ENTJ, I like doing photography,watching and making films, and writing. The kicker is I like photography when I’m in control (which is why I don’t like others taking photos of me without knowing), I like directing and producing films, and writing is a way for me to assert my thoughts and try and lead people into a different way of thinking.

  8. Turnip says:

    Cosplaying and photography are Se-related. INFPs probably wouldn’t do either and would only imagine themselves doing it in some fictional setting.

    • tatl33 says:

      Hmm I can understand the photography being Se related… cosplaying though. Don’t you have to be pretty open minded to cosplay?

      • Turnip says:

        I meant that they probably wouldn’t see the point. You can “look” like a character but do you feel like them? INFPs would only see it as a mere outer shell if they don’t feel like they represent what the character represents – with INFP what is worn tends to reflect the values within.

        • tatl33 says:

          Wow that’s a unique idea. I can see what you mean- Se’s prefer the outer world of “this looks cool” or “you’ve dressed in an interesting way” whereas Ne’s are more in their own heads. I think if an INFP actually feels they identify with a character, and their values reflect the characters, they can best represent that character. What do you think?

    • JaneEyreOfTheGablesSoGreen says:

      I’m a major INFP and I have cosplayed once or twice… I dressed up as Rose Tyler from Doctor Who… It was a bit scary at first, but I enjoyed the fantasy of it… it’s like playing make-believe. It’s a form of expression as it gives me a way to share my interests simply by walking around… It combines my enthusiasm for Doctor Who with my penchant for a unique identity. Even though I didn’t get into character at all bc I don’t feel comfortable talking in an accent in front of strangers, the hardest part was still openly sharing a part of myself with other people at a con. Luckily, I wasn’t judged at all!

    • arunachalala says:

      Bullshit. I’m INFP and I LOVE photography, especially artistic photography. I love photo editing too.

      • tatl33 says:

        Photography and photo editing are both related to the extroverted perceiving functions. So Ne and Se types each should enjoy photography, just for different reasons and using different perspectives on the photos they are taking. What type of photography do you like Arunachalala?

  9. I really don’t agree about the INFJ stuff, from my own perspective. But, I guess I’m really into a lot of other stuff and I barely am different IN F/T J/P/. It is possible for people like me, who are so closely similar to all 4 Intuitive Introverted types to share hobbies though.
    I do like watching movies, but that’s about the only thing you got right for me. As an INFJ, I like writing, chess [feeling is a type of thinking, btw], photography, Acting, Singing, Directing [i’m not really a sensor, but you can’t say that fun things like these are only for sensors], Musician, film editing, drawing/painting, Cooking, Skating, Cycling… I guess I’m just a huge mixed box though when It comes to what personality I am. I come close enough to INFJ and have gotten it on several tests.

    • tatl33 says:

      That’s a great list of hobbies you have there! Yeah a lot of those things you listed ARE things that INFJ’s would definitely relate with. What activities don’t you like?

    • Liss says:

      I’m a very strong INFJ and the only hobby I agree with would be foreign languages. I would have listed volunteering or community and social work as INFJ pastimes. Books, music and painting are my personal favourites. Praying seemed a particularly odd choice.

  10. Arakkun says:

    I must say you that INTPs usually suck at chess:
    There’s a classic NT-types paragon that say:
    an INTP would ask if he could change his past moves
    an ENTP would move things around as he see they fit
    an ENTJ would change rules

    The type who fits chess more is INTJ, Ni provides insight for the next moves, while Te provides him a good understanding of rules

    • tatl33 says:

      Great thoughts. I continue to love reading your ideas. I can see that a lot of NTP types might also see too many possibilities and want to try too many new things in chess whereas it is often better in chess not to experiment and go with what you know. I’ve read a few forums where they say ISTP types are often amazing at chess. It makes sense for the same reason as INTJ’s that you mentioned. They have Ni as their third function, and they have the Ti logic of INTP’s but without the too open to possibilities. Additionally, the Se allows them to live in the present moment. What do you think?

      • Arakkun says:

        Only the oldest INTJs are “developed enough” to have a good Se.
        Being Se-inferior means that you get to be able to develop it much later the Se-dom/aux or tert,
        ENTP(Si-inf) for most of their life are, for example, resistant to traditions
        INTP(Fe-inf) for most of their life try to dismiss their emotion as not logical, though they still have Fe, and that make them warm
        ENTJ(Fi-inf) often disregard the feelings of themselves when deciding something
        INTJ(Se-inf) can end up losing their touch wih the physical world

        So the inferior functions of peoples can actually be connected to their “problems”.
        Anyway, the fact I’m not good at chess is the same fact I hate Dark Souls: I can’t experiment that I end up having to restart the game… completely ( I tried to kill the first NPC I encountered, and learned to counterattack in the process ).
        Differently, the INTJs Ni let them think through the future, it let them have a particular kind of insight that INTPs usually don’t have, while INTP often lose lots of time to find “perfect solutions”, INTJs can find almost perfect solutions and -in chess- moves that can make them win the battles.

        • daum korea says:

          ๋ฐ”๋‘‘์€ ๊ฐ์œผ๋กœ๋„ ๋‘˜์ˆ˜ ์žˆ์ง€๋งŒ ์ฒด์Šค๋Š” ๊ณ ์ˆ˜์ผ์ˆ˜๋ก ๊ฐ์œผ๋กœ ํ•˜๋Š”๊ฑด ๋ชจ๋ฅด๊ณ  ํ•˜๋Š”๊ฑฐ๋ž‘ ๋น„์Šทํ•˜๋‹ค๋˜๋ฐ

          ์ •ํ™•ํ•œ ๋…ผ๋ฆฌ๋Š” intp๋‚˜ entj์•„๋‹Œ๊ฐ€์š”?

    • daum korea says:

      Intj was mulling looks like a chess player, and though they all decided after thinking about the possibility that the precise moves. If he has allowed all if you play the chess intp will revise his strategy and moving my speech with the place. If, you say ‘game again!’ said this led to conditions that can not move more. If he plays chess entp He then why the rules favoring will explain the existing rules are inappropriate. Entj have previously moving their pieces the words of then, she was moving his opponent’s piece will leave

  11. Pipehead420 says:

    So true haha! I love drawing (ISFP) and photography! I should try some yoga lol!

  12. Super Janice says:

    I don’t understand why is singing ESFP? I think singing should be ENTJ. To me, singing is just like debating and leading activities!

  13. Dawn says:

    I am an INFP and my passion is art, in both literary and visual forms — but, however, not photography. I do occasionally do it, but I don’t like the practicality of having to work out settings and shutter speeds and such.

  14. Tymplton says:

    Stamp collecting and reading the newspaper?

    Ugh are you serious? We’re not THAT boring. Archery and sailing sound cool though…

    I kind of grew to hate bowling based off of personal experiences though.. how ISTJ of me.

  15. Manda says:

    As an INTP I this list would offend me if I were capable of feeling that emotion.
    1. I’ve never played chess (so who knows, this could be valid and I’m missing out)
    2. I rarely play video games and have always actually found more enjoyment in watching others play them.
    3. Magic tricks. I just, don’t even know what to say about this. NO comes to mind.

    You see the issue with having “hobbies” for INTPs is that we don’t have them. We have intellectual pursuits, things that we have to do, activities that let our minds wander freely, and occasional interactions with other human beings to get fresh crops of new ideas to ponder.
    Literally every time I’ve been asked what my hobbies are I’ve drawn a blank… or lied to get the person asking to stop pestering me.

    I guess if “researching” were considered a hobby, I’d be ok with saying that was an enjoyable INTP pass-time.

  16. Anonymous says:

    Hi! Actually, I don’t really agree with what you put down for my type. I am an INFJ. I have never finished a scrapbook, I don’t sit around and watch a lot of movies, and currently I am not learning any languages (though I am starting French this year). You got praying right, at least. I am a Christian and I believe in personal relationships with God, so I do pray quite a bit. My time is usually spent playing piano and singing, drawing, reading, or writing. I do like your posts on here, though. Very good. May I ask what your religion is?

  17. Elle says:

    do you think that infjs are “old souls”? my friends always call me “the mom” of our group, or an “old soul.” actually many people who are older than me have said that they feel like i’m older than them haha :p

  18. Tymplton says:

    Stamp collecting?

    I swear it’s not ISTJs fault that we’re stereotyped as boring, it’s other types who think we like stamp collecting that perpetrate this kind of shit.

    Mt biggest hobby is listening to and collecting albums.

  19. lola says:

    Hello Fellow INFJ’s:
    I’m glad to see I’m not the only one that disagrees with the list of hobbies. The only listed hobby I can relate to is learning foreign languages (although I don’t necessarily see it as a hobby since I am an interpreter professionally).

    I don’t watch many movies either, although I do enjoy good movies when I get around to it. I am very picky about movies, so I need to be pretty sure of the movie’s reputation before I devote so much time toward watching it.

    I enjoy reading fiction, writing poetry and fictional stories, writing philosophical or otherwise observational thoughts. I enjoy writing letters to friends as well. I spend a great deal of my time just pondering the world or having full-blown arguments in my mind. I also spend a lot of my free time psycho analyzing my favorite writers and (to my shame) people in my life.

    I do enjoy watching a good Television series: I got into the Sopranos, MadMen, Fargo, and others. Though I also do love fluff and comedic sitcoms, like Friends, Frasier, Seinfeld.. Curb Your Enthusiasm. .. I am very capable of tuning out the world by watching re-run after re-run

    I occasionally paint and do arts-and-crafts (though my perfectionistic tendencies can creep up hardcore during these activities, so these are best left for when I feel relaxed).

    I agree with the other fellow INFJ who enjoys chess. It is a nice mind exercise. It almost feels like my mind organizes itself when I play chess. The mind feels good especially in the safety of online play. In-person chess is enjoyable if the competition is respectful and not overly emotional or psychologically abusive. I like a nice respectful, sincere game of chess.

    Things I don’t like:
    I don’t enjoy taking photos or others taking photos of me. The biggest reason for this is that I hate interrupting a perfectly fine moment in order to “capture it.”

    I have a strong distaste for social media.

    I hope this contributes to the conversation. Thanks-

  20. I am ENJT i like all martial arts so how did they guess that taekwondo was my favorite

Post a comment below

