Which MBTI type is most brave?

Hello everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good December! I’ve enjoyed my overseas Christmas vacation in America and Canada, and I’m eager to continue to share my MBTI theories with you all. Remember to follow me on Facebook and Twitter to help expand this website and so you can be updated on the newest articles. Let’s get to it!

Firstly, whilst the introverted types are more likely to focus on what is occurring inside their heads, the extroverts are more about acting in the world around them. Whilst the introverts generally spend longer thinking about potential dangers that could occur, extroverts generally are more action-orientated and get energized by their environment. For these reasons, most extroverts are energized by the many new and exciting situations that they, as action-orientated individuals, find themselves in. Therefore, most extroverts are more confident in facing new and potentially dangerous situations than introverts.

Sensors live more in the present world than intuitives. They are more realistic individuals, and therefore, whilst intuitives are more likely to see all the potential situations that could occur from making a decision, such as saving a man who is being robbed, the sensors more likely focus on the present situation rather than future implications. Therefore, sensors are generally more brave. This also relates to judging vs perceiving. Judging types, particular Ni, consider all future implications when making decisions. On the other hand, perceiving types, particular Se, focus on the present moment, not considering the future implications as much. Without as much care about such things, Se types are generally more brave than Ni. This makes ESXP, or dominant Se users, the type that is most brave.

Finally, thinkers are generally more brave than feelers. Whilst feeling types are more emotional and often irrational than thinkers, thinking types can generally rationalize situations better and think more with their heads. Therefore, ESTP types are the most brave types.

About tatl33

Hello, my name is Tim! I am an INFJ interested in psychology currently residing in Australia. My aim is to provide you with information on MBTI and how it can be related to real life situations. Enjoy :)
This entry was posted in ESTP and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Which MBTI type is most brave?

  1. Charity says:

    I’d agree with that. When I saw the title for this post, I said, “ESTPs.” LOL

  2. I see two types of bravery. There are physical acts of heroism, such as in war, and then there are the acts of doing the right thing, such as in politics or law enforcement.

    In war, and here I have to agree with you, that it is the SP’s that are the most brave. I use the metaphor of “warriors” to describe SP’s on my web site, because they exhibit warrior-like behavior. They hold “courage” as one of their highest values, and many SP’s are always trying to get more of it (such as through chemical stimulants).

    My father was an ESTP. During World War II, he won the Silver Star medal for acts of bravery TWICE. When asked why he did those insanely stupid things (standing up in the face of intense enemy fire), he responded that he did it for his buddies.

    But then their are political acts of bravery, involving doing the dirty work that will involve making tough decisions that many people will feel are hurtful. These decisions have long term consequences that are beneficial to society. In this case, the SJ’s are the bravest. While other people cave and give in to what is popular (“free money for everyone”), they stick by their convictions, and do what is right for future generations.

    The SJ’s also dominate law enforcement. They are willing to protect others. David Keirsey, in his famous book: Please Understand Me, calls the SJ’s: Guardians. They are willing to put themselves in harms way to protect the rights of others. That is major bravery, if you ask me.

    • tatl33 says:

      I agree with you! Perhaps I should of clarified which type of bravery I was referring to- the first type- although the second type requires just as much courage if not more!!
      I think in many ways SJ’s are the stabilizers of our society- the backbone. Without them, we couldn’t function. Which other types do you think are brave?

    • Jeroen says:

      I get the SP part, though not the SJ one. SJ and long term consequences? SJ and though decisions? The ones I know don’t do either of those, and behave more like sheep than most. Perhaps my limited sample group is not representative enough though.

  3. Pingback: Which MBTI type are the factions from the Divergent Trilogy? Which MBTI type are the characters from the Divergent Trilogy? | Which MBTI Type…

  4. T says:

    If bravery is the absence of fear, then yes, ESTP would fit. But if bravery is action despite the presence of fear/ overcoming fear, than it is not type related

    • tatl33 says:

      That’s a really good point πŸ™‚ I was thinking the absence of fear, but I guess there are many other types of bravery

      • Purgis says:

        I think acting in spite of fear is the most impressive kind of bravery, because it shows that you have strong morals and that they are more important than your own fears. Also struggling on in difficult situations is very brave. To me bravery is having the guts to do things in general, which can also be small acts. When I try to be brave it’s always a conscious decision, because I’m not reckless. Reckless bravery is what people might notice the most though because it’s very openly displayed and less introverted. Thus I think this is what people associate most with the word.

  5. Hannah Lollis says:

    Totally INTJ’s.
    We don’t let our emotions reign, so we have guts to take risks.
    Stop calling us nerds!
    We are just as good as all you nutty extroverts.

  6. Mingyu Seok says:

    I think the worst type nf Type afraid and intimidated.
    nt like normal personality as well the nature of compromise public ahnigie nf the
    Anna nf iq more than a big difference I think most anmeokneun yuhyeongin scared …

    I think that is the most courageous yuhyeongin ENFJ.

    I think

  7. Mingyu Seok says:

    Usually not a good compromise nature of the public as to the nature nf type
    iq is not a big difference, I think it’s more than nf is not the type to feel scared.

    I think that is the most courageous yuhyeongin ENFJ.

    I think

    Translated more …

  8. daum korea says:

    I think the worst type nf Type afraid and intimidated.
    nt like normal personality as well the nature of compromise public ahnigie nf the
    Anna nf iq more than a big difference I think most anmeokneun yuhyeongin scared …

    I think that is the most courageous yuhyeongin ENFJ.

    I think

    Usually not a good compromise nature of the public as to the nature nf type
    iq is not a big difference, I think it’s more than nf is not the type to feel scared.

    I think that is the most courageous yuhyeongin ENFJ.

    I think

    Translated more …

  9. Pipehead420 says:

    Wouldn’t Feeling be more courageous than Thinking? Cause I always thought that someone Thinking wouldn’t find it logical to save someone from a thief, where as someone Feeling is more irrational, and therefore his/her actions are more reckless and impulsive.

  10. Pipehead420 says:

    I think Perceivers are the bravest types, especially SP since they live in the present and are spontaneous and like to improvise.

  11. Zing says:

    INTJ
    When Ni takes over everything crumbles in fear !

  12. Paul Voorhies says:

    I would agree with your assessment, but ENTJs and ENTPs give them a run for their money. I love ENTJs, personally. I wouldn’t want to take them on.

    I’m an INFJ, and though I’m incredibly decisive, bravery is certainly not my strong suit.

Post a comment below

