Which MBTI type corresponds to which virtue and vice?

There are many personality traits that are both loved and hated in a person. When using the MBTI tool, it becomes a lot easier to find potential flaws and gifts in a person. Firstly, it is necessary to define both a virtue and a vice. A virtue can be defined as “Moral excellence” whereas a vice can be defined as a “fault often considered immoral.”

When looking at the various MBTI types, we can easily find a compatible virtue and vice. Of course, there are many more virtues and vices, however for the purpose of this article I have chosen just one virtue for each type- for example, each introvert is obviously observant and perceivers are fun, however for the sake of this, I have narrowed down just one virtue one vice that particularly stands out. In doing so, I have limited myself in selecting many virtues and have emphasized the importance of each virtue and vice and the uniqueness of each virtue/vice to each type. Please also note that some of these could be considered both virtues and vices. Now, without further ado, here are the typings:



Compassion- sympathetic awareness of anthers distress with a desire to fix it


Melancholic- feeling or tending to feel a thoughtful or gentle sadness



Creativity- to generate new ideas or concepts


Self-pity- the belief that your life is more difficult than others



Ambition- having a strong desire to achieve a specific purpose


Manipulative- using clever ways to control something or someone



Understanding- Assimilation of knowledge


Erratic- not predictable, regular or consistent; departs from expected standards at the time



Loyal- faithful to a person or community; dedicated and devoted.


Cowardice- an absence of courage or bravery



Gentleness- moderate, quite, not rough or severe


Sulkiness- moody resentful disposition



Reliability- can be trusted to do something


Inflexibility- firmly established and impossible to change



Detachment- freedom from surroundings


Callousness- showing no concern for another person’s feelings



Enthusiasm- a feeling of excitment


Stubbornness – unreasonably and obstructively determined to persevere



Individualism- emphasizing importance of the individual


Narcissim- excessive self-admiration and self-centeredness and an excessive need for admiration



Strength- capable of exerting great force


Arrogance- the act of feeling or showing self-importance and contempt or disregard for others



Curiosity- a desire to find out and know things


Self-indulgence- lack of self-control in pursuing your own pleasure or satisfaction



Generosity- giving, or willing to give freely


Prejudice – an unfounded hatred, fear, or mistrust of a person or group



Peace- freedom from mental agitation; serenity


Self-indulgence- lack of self-control in pursuing your own pleasure or satisfaction



Justice- fair, impartial, giving a deserved response


Condescension- behavior that implies that somebody is graciously lowering themselves to the level of people less important



Spontaneity- natural, not planned


Thoughtlessness – showing a lack of planning or forethought; showing a lack of consideration for other people or for consequences

Virtue/Vice Sources:



Do you agree with this blog entry? What virtues/vices do you think relate to each type? Post your comments below so we can have a great discussion!

Also, remember to check out the new Facebook and Twitter pages that have been created for Which MBTI Type. People who like and follow will have quicker access to new information and access to a community where we can discuss MBTI in great depth!



About tatl33

Hello, my name is Tim! I am an INFJ interested in psychology currently residing in Australia. My aim is to provide you with information on MBTI and how it can be related to real life situations. Enjoy :)
This entry was posted in ENFJ, ENFP, ENTJ, ENTP, ESFJ, ESFP, ESTJ, ESTP, INFJ, INFP, INTJ, INTP, ISFJ, ISFP, ISTJ, ISTP and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Which MBTI type corresponds to which virtue and vice?

  1. Jeroen says:

    I’m manipulating you into fixing the grammer error in “to achievement a specific purpose”

  2. Charity says:

    This is great. I think you’re pretty much on target.๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Wow this is so accurate. I’m an introverted NF and both INFJ and INFP apply to me (still trying to figure out how I feel about the functions, I’m not sure I believe in them). ENFJ, ESTJ & ESFJ are spot on to the people I know.

    • tatl33 says:

      Thanks for the kind words! With INFJ and INFP traits, I definitely think there are many similarities, so I’m not surprised that you identify with both! And what other traits describe the ENFJ, ESTJ and ESFJ people you know?
      I hope you try and believe in the functions! They actually make sense when you investigate them in detail! I didn’t believe them at first either๐Ÿ™‚

      • The thing I’m doubting is the introvert/extrovert part of the functions. I definitely see the value in the functions of Feeling, Thinking, Intuition and Sensing but I just don’t find the way they’ve laid out the functions with the introversion and extroversion to be accurate. If we’re talking functions, I most identify with Ni, Fi, Si. I don’t really have Ne or Se at all and I don’t think I have Te, especially when I see it in my mum as her first function. I’ve read that both Fi & Fe users pick up on the feelings of people in the room but the Fe people care where the Fi users don’t. I definitely pick up the feelings of people easily and usually know why they’re acting that way or what they’re connected to and usually try to make them feel comfortable and do things to make the other person happy but I’m also very aware of how other people are making me feel. I don’t lose myself like Fe users seem to.

        I’m positive I’m an NF so I’m really trying to go back to basics and focus on temperament these days…

        ENFJ (friend) – spontaneous, not very open about deep personal feelings, very caring, sometimes hurtful without knowing it as she can put others down to pick herself up
        ESTJ (my mum) – dominating, organiser, terrible listener, practical, direct, traditional, critical, has to be right/in charge. The inferior feeling is such a bitch, especially now she’s in her 50s
        ESFJ (friend & a work colleague) – easily upset/frustrated, can be negative, close-minded (thinks THEIR world is THE WORLD), duty-oriented, people pleaser, can lose sense of self particularly in relationships, and like you said, can be very prejudice. the work colleague is dating a person of a different nationality to them (pacific islander, she’s british) yet she makes racist comments. i just don’t understand…

        Hope that was useful & wasn’t too rambly๐Ÿ˜›

        • tatl33 says:

          That was useful!๐Ÿ™‚ I have noticed you have wrote some negative descriptions about most of the people- I find when you negatively associate someone with an MBTI type, it makes you no longer wanna associate with that type and may cause some bias (e.g. you meet a thinker who is direct and rude, so you say “I’m definitely a feeling type, I’m not rude to people” which creates bias as you may be a thinker…) but I think you’re smart so I don’t think you’ll have that problem!
          By the way, if you don’t think your first function is an extroverted function, that means you must be an INF type… now you have to figure out if your an INFJ (Ni-Fe) or INFP (Fi-Ne) so really you should research those four functions, and you should probably identify with either Ni and Fe, or Fi and Ne more. Good luck, the introvert/extrovert part of the functions are very confusing.
          Maybe try reading this.

          • Interesting, I didn’t realise what most of what I wrote was negative… I suppose I am a negative person (but an optimist!) so it makes sense. I just went with what came to mind first. For the ESFJ I tried to go with the common traits they both share… I was going to say the ESFJ was a good listener but only one of them is.

            My mum as an ESTJ is very useful – she’s a great provider and very good at doing practical things like my brother (ENTP) is moving house and has no idea what he’s doing but mum will take charge and organise and think about all the details that he would miss.

            I’ve done a tonne of research on the Fi/Ne, Ni/Fe functions and am still just as confused as to which one I am haha! I need someone to analyse me or something. I wish there was a way to experience thoughts of other people to really understand how they think. I’m starting to realise that a lot of people (all the sensors) I know kind of go through lists in their head of what they have to do and thinks like that which is something I rarely think about. I once asked my mum what she thinks about and she said errands and that when she’s got that sorted she’ll count things like the amount of traffic lights or lines in the road or how many times people use a certain word and things like that. It’s so fascinating because it’s just so different to how I think and see the world.

            Have you ever seen this test (http://similarminds.com/compatibility-enneagram.html)? I’ve gotten a few people to do it and they’ve typed me as INTJ, ISTJ, ISFJ. Not accurate at all but at least they got the introvert part haha.

            I’m such a rambler!!

          • tatl33 says:

            I guess I could help you figure it out. Right now, my gut instinct is telling me you are SO much like an INFP I am really close to, and if I had to guess I’d say there’s an 80 percent chance your INFP, 20 per cent chance your INFJ. INXP types often find it hardest to identify their type because the Ne is always telling them there is a different possibility. And when you call yourself a “rambler” I know so many INFP’s who say they are a rambler too!
            I may or may not be correct, but just consider that for a second๐Ÿ™‚

          • Just had a look at that website you linked as well and I definitely don’t relate to Ne at all (just kept thinking of my ENTP brother whilst reading it) but Ni is on point. Fi & Ti descriptions also fit me.

          • tatl33 says:

            Hmmmm then you must be an INFJ. You really sound so much like an INFP though!

  4. Thanks so much for your input. I definitely would be fine with being INFP (especially as John Mayer is said to be one and I find him extremely fascinating).

    Which definition of Ne do you tend to stick with? I’ve never felt like I’m someone who’s always thinking about possibilities but now I think about it I suppose I am as I’m always questioning society and figuring out ways that things can be better. And I’m never the person coming up with a bunch of ideas and brainstorming in group setting (in fact, I hate brainstorming – people get carried away and get silly about it).

    I don’t know. I guess if I am INFP this is just part of the journey of self-discovery and finding out our purpose and where we belong and all that jazz.

    • tatl33 says:

      I tend to think of the endless possibilities one.
      The main reason I saw your Ne was your constant switching of ideas mid conversation- you’d be in the middle of talking about something, and then you’d change topic and you consider it rambling, but I consider it Ne exploring all possibilites. Have you ever thought about that? I just recognize that Ne-Fi pattern you seem to have in so many other INFP’s or ENFP’s.

      • Erin says:

        Interesting. I guess I didn’t really think how my mind worked was Ne as I consider Ne to be a very charming function in others and I am definitely not a charmer (only one person ever has called me charming haha – I think intense and moody would be words people would associate with me).

        But now you mention it I’ve realised that in conversations I almost restart what I’m saying if I realise that the people I’m talking to don’t know a particular part, which means I would have to give backstory or define something. In my mind everything I say is connected but I guess it doesn’t necessarily come off that way to others. I always look for the easiest way to say something that won’t lead to more questions from people as it freaks me out because I might not have the answer and then look stupid. I like to say what I want to say and then have the conversation move on.

        You don’t have to but if it’s not too much trouble would you maybe be able to list some of your INFP friend’s qualities or how they interact in social situations? Would appreciate it…

        • tatl33 says:

          Hmm I think it’s like if you have Ne, you have the ability to charm others, but its really EXXP that defines charming in my opinion. I don’t think INXP’s, even though they have Ne, are necessarily as charming. In fact, I typically think of ENTP when I think of charming due to their combination of Ne and Fe that really makes them so charming. You really need that Fe in my opinion.
          Yes, that sounds so much like an INFP- and the way you are talking continues to more and more sound so INFPish!
          Basically from INFP’s I’ve met, they’ve all wanted to say what they want to, often explaining some bits which may seem unneccessary to others. It’s like they are a web of different connecting ideas that others often struggle to understand, but then sometimes the idea gets through and it can be an incredible idea. Think of famous scientists if you want NTP examples, or famous authors, poets, musicians, etc. if you want an INFP example.

          Well I’ve had three girlfriends who have been INFP’s/ENFP’s and I really don’t think its a coincidence. So I think one tell tale way you are an INFP is if you get along well with INFJ’s or ENFJ’s more than most other types.
          Another sign is you generally are very excitable around other people that you KNOW WELL. Otherwise not so much. You should also often be very sensitive to situations.
          You also love making conversations fun and entertaining, and really care about the person you are engaged in the conversation with. No small talk, and usually you like talking about conversations that really interest you, especially if they are out of the ordinary.
          You do take things personally sometimes although you probably don’t try to show it (probably- you may show it, I think that’s more of a personal thing.)
          You are very imaginative, often moreso than INFJ’s.
          You hate conflict- that’s a really big one.
          A big difference between INFP’s and INFJ’s is you are less of a conformer often. This is because INFJ’s are trying to make sure everything they say makes the other person happy, whilst the INFP wants everything they say to keep themselves and the other person at peace. So INFP’s want to be true to themselves, so would be less likely to lie about something about their identity. Well I think- this last one is more of a theory.
          Often you get nervous when talking to other people.
          Does this sound like you?

          • Erin says:

            I’m so sorry I never responded to this – I’ve done a lot of reading & soul searching in the last few weeks and have decided I am an INFP. The thing that really hit the nail on the head for me was the directing vs informing type of communication – I am most definitely an informer.

            Thank you for your responses & help๐Ÿ™‚

          • tatl33 says:

            That’s alright! Great to see you’ve figured it out! You’ll find that you will never stop questioning your type though! As an INFJ, I always do that. Even today, someone described my personality to me and it convinced me that I was an ENTP for a little while. It really comes down to which type you keep coming back to identifying yourself as the most I’ve found๐Ÿ™‚

            If you need anymore help let me know! I always enjoy a good MBTI convo๐Ÿ™‚

  5. qilin says:

    Do you actually know any INTJs? I’m an INTJ and no one has ever said or implied that I am manipulative. Quite the opposite. Along with ISTJs, we are known as the most stoic type. INFJs like to accuse me of being ARROGANT, though. When I use Te to filter my Ni, I file a lot of my Ni perceptions under “Needs Further Evidence” while INFJs seem to accept what bubbles forth from the fountain of Ni without question. I’m vocal about the criteria I use to seek the truth and INFJs perceive that as arrogance. I would say the main vice of INTJs is our distrust of other people and their motivations.

  6. korea says:

    isfj There is no courage ???

    • tatl33 says:

      In unhealthy ISFJ’s, this can often lead to lack of courage. Please note for all of these this is only in the unhealthy stage- most ISFJ’s are not cowardice and in fact can become extremely brave in their healthy state.๐Ÿ™‚

  7. bnw828 says:

    I definitely agree with the part about the INFJ (I’m an INFJ too)!!! Sometimes, the virtue and the vice switch though because Melancholy can be beautiful at times while Compassion and sympathy sometimes leads to more trouble and the difficulty with saying “no”, even when you know that person doesn’t deserve the sympathy.

  8. daum korea says:

    I e neun
    You were simply get out to be several times algonijeum

    Maybe … … did you get out that we must by far when first

    The world go around seems that will be a (about people) things were 53 percent, extroversion, e

    isfj With the exception seems right

    • daum korea says:

      ์™œ ๋Œ“๊ธ€ ์ป๋‹ค๊ฐ€ ์‚ญ์ œํ•จ? ๋‹ˆ๊ฐ€ ํ•œ๊ตญ์ธ ์ธํ„ฐ๋„ท์•Œ๋ฐ”๋ผ๋Š”๊ฑธ ์ธ์ •ํ•˜๋Š”๊ตฌ๋‚˜ ์‚ฌ๊ธฐ๊พผ ใ…‹ใ…‹ใ…‹ใ…‹

      ๊ทธ๋Ÿผ ํ•œ๊ตญinfp๋Š” ํ—›์†Œ๋ฆฌ๋ผ๋Š”๊ฒŒ ์ฆ๋ช…๋œ์†Œ๋ฆฌ๋„ค ใ…‹ใ…‹ใ…‹ entp ๋ณ‘์‹ ์ƒˆ๋ผ

Post a comment below

