Which MBTI type are the characters from The Simpsons?

The classic sitcom, The Simpsons

Characters from the Simpsons are easy to distinguish, and will be done here.
Homer- The simple minded, live in the moment father of the show makes him the star of the show. ESTP
Marge- The loyal wife of Homer, who tries to keep the family in order. ISFJ
Bart- The rebellious, action loving son of Homer and Marge. Not always inclined to follow rules, and lacks structure, Bart’s type is an ESTP
Lisa- Creative and kind, the daughter of Homer and Marge is clearly an INFJ.
Krusty- ENTJ
Comic Book Guy- INTJ
Mr Burns- INTJ
Sideshow Bob- INTJ
Carl- ESTP
Lenny- ESFP
Snake- ESTP
Ralph- INFP
Millhouse- INFP
Nelson- ESTJ
Chief- ESTJ
Barney- ENFP
Professor Frink- INTP
Kent Brockman- ENTP
Smithers- ISFP
Principal Skinner- ISTJ
Otto- INTP
*As there are a lot of characters in The Simpsons, I’m sure you can think of your own! Leave some characters in the comments below!🙂

About tatl33

Hello, my name is Tim! I am an INFJ interested in psychology currently residing in Australia. My aim is to provide you with information on MBTI and how it can be related to real life situations. Enjoy :)
This entry was posted in Characters, ESFJ, ESTP, INFJ and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Which MBTI type are the characters from The Simpsons?

  1. Pingback: Reading Digest: Long Reads Edition « Dead Homer Society

  2. Hello There. I found your blog the use of msn. This is a really smartly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  3. yoyo says:

    I’d agree but homer is really ESFP. Homer and Bart are different in a way. Who starts their series of pranks they do on each other? Bart. He’s the less emotional one. Homer is always sympathetic and tries to change when Marge or Lisa, whom he love, are mad at him. An ESTP would probahly get defensive or not consider their words until a certain point. Homer clearly sets all of his fun antics on his emotions. How many times did he cry when a hobby was desttoyed or plan to help someone.

  4. Gemma says:

    I agree with most of these typings, but Milhouse stricks me as an unconfident INTP and Ned stricks me more as an introvert.

    I can argue that Lisa is an INTJ, but I won’t. In some episodes she seems to prefer thinking and in others feeling. She is concerned with civil rights and the environment, but can be very blunt and logical in her interactions with others. She is sceptical of faith and she doesn’t seem to be too sentimental. She seems annoyed by the illogical behaviour of the people around her and wants them to be logical but that could be the result of being gifted.

    • tatl33 says:

      Agreed- I can see her as both. I sometimes believe that could be her introverted intuition coming out, which is common in both INTJ’s and INFJ’s. Her Fe is very evident in many episodes, as you can easily see her extroverting her feelings.

    • Jibi-Emu says:

      -comments 4,000 years later- She might be an INFJ with highly developed Ti. In my case, INFJ who have a very developed tertiary function can be typed as INTP and INTJ. With that being said, she could very well be INXJ- switching functions off and on depending on the situation. :}

  5. John says:

    I disagree with the following: (and I’ll share my opinion on what mbti type they are)

    Marge- ESFJ
    Comic book Guy- INTP
    Ralph- ISFP
    Professor Frink- ENTP
    Nelson- ISTP
    Skinner- INTJ
    Otto- ISFP

    • tatl33 says:

      Interesting! I agree with some of these too, many of them were hard to figure out, and I was fifty fifty on them! I can see your reasoning for Marge, comic book guy, ralph, otto and nelson. Could you explain professor frink and Skinner?

  6. CR says:

    Although Homer isn’t always considerate to his family, he seems to be very emotional and has no ability to handle criticism. He is often selfish, but I don’t see why this should make him an ESTP.

    Otto is like my ISFP friend. So much similarities😀

  7. Emma says:

    Maggie might be a bit young but I’m curious as to what she might be. I think she might be a young ISTP or at least IxxP. She’s very observant, aware and clever.

  8. Pietro says:

    I think Marge is an ISFP : she is an Artist, she really loves painting, wrinting, she’s very creative. ISFP are the artist, and they also like to keep order in family.

    • tatl33 says:

      Interesting thoughts! I haven’t heard that before. I think judging types are more likely to wish to keep order, P’s more want to keep peace in families from my perspective. What is your type by the way?

      • Pietro says:

        I’m an ISFP, so I’m not very objective in my thoughts ^^
        Nevertheless, I stand by my point of view about Marge. We might say she’s an organized P’s ?
        You say P’s want to keep peace, I remember an episode where Marge is crying at the end because all Springfield is fighting in the stadium (when she leads a kind of scout band against Milhouse’s father).

        • tatl33 says:

          Could that be more from Fe though? Se’s value relaxed/peaceful, Fe’s values emotional harmony and everybody around them being happy🙂
          What’s it like being an ISFP?

  9. Johng982 says:

    Wow, marvelous blog structure! How long have you been running a blog cdkeggbecedd

    • tatl33 says:

      Thank you so much Johng982 for the kind words! What about the blog structure do you like? I’ve been running this blog since 2010, I hope it serves you well!

Post a comment below

