Which MBTI type is the most argumentative?

Argumentative: “Writing that attempts to prove the validity of a point of view or an idea by presenting reasoned argument.”

The most argumentative MBTI type is highly debatable, much more so than the others questions that have been asked. However, after asking for many people’s opinions on forums, I have got the following results from the people surveyed:

ENFP 2 4.65%
ENFJ 0 0%
INFJ 0 0%
INFP 0 0%
ISFP 1 2.33%
ISFJ 0 0%
ISTJ 0 0%
ISTP 0 0%
ESFP 0 0%
ESTP 0 0%
ESTJ 0 0%
ESFJ 0 0%
INTP 2 4.65%
INTJ 7 16.28%
ENTP 22 51.16%
ENTJ 9 20.93%

This data clearly proves that the ENTP is voted the most likely to argue. Now then, shall we look at why the ENTP is the most argumentative? Okay, first of all extroverts love expressing their opinions externally to the people around them. Introverts take longer to think about what they are going to say, and are not as quick on their feet like extroverts are. They also do not enjoy arguing as much as extroverts. It is therefore clear that extroverts prefer arguing more than introverts.

Now this part is tricky. Whilst most would say that intuitive people would argue a lot more for their values and beliefs, many would say sensors complain just as much about the laws being enforced in their town. However, most leaders in our world, good and bad, have been intuitive. Examples are Martin Luther King and Adolf Hitler. They stick up for their beliefs and argue for what they believe is right until the day they die. Intuitive people are therefore more likely to argue than sensors.

Some people just argue too much...

Well this is an ENTP taken to a whole new level…

Thinkers are more likely to argue, due to the fact that feelers hate conflict and can not stand arguing with other people. They believe in peaceful relationships without any anger.

Are perceivers or judgers more argumentative? This is the winning question. ENTP’s think spontaneously, and live in the moment. This means in arguments that they are more involved in the argument and they are quicker on their feet. Whilst judgers need to be more prepared for an argument, such as in a courthouse, perceivers can argue anytime, anywhere.

From this information it is clear that the ENTP is the most argumentative type. A common job for an ENTP is a lawyer, where they can get paid to do their favourite thing in life- argue! ENTP’s can be very annoying people, and they can almost never admit their wrong!

Which MBTI do you think? Leave your opinion in the comments section below!

About tatl33

Hello, my name is Tim! I am an INFJ interested in psychology currently residing in Australia. My aim is to provide you with information on MBTI and how it can be related to real life situations. Enjoy :)
This entry was posted in ENTP and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Which MBTI type is the most argumentative?

  1. Samuel Brown says:

    Go ENTP!!! Lol I guess I don’t want to disagree with them😛

  2. lucky19 says:

    Damn straight.

  3. aqueenisdead@hotmail.co.uk says:

    As an ENTP, let me say that we absolutely hate argui- Aw, crap…

  4. acerbusvenator says:

    lol, those slippery ENTPs😄
    Doesn’t matter what you say, they always got a “yes, but…”

    I’d also say that it depends on the situation.
    ENTPs might be really argumentative when in a rational debate, but we INFPs can be far more annoying when the debate heats up, lol.
    We’re never wrong😛

    Also, as an INFP I have to say that Fi is a lot more… a lot more argumentative than Fe.
    Fi is close to the Ti function and that says a lot😛
    Difference being that our more irrational Fi is supported by Te.

  5. Daniel says:

    No, it’s not that we love to argue—it’s that we love to debate and debating is actually fun. Crossing other types with an actual argument in the negative sense will result in a much more angry response. The truly argumentative types are the ESFP and ESTJ talk radio and tv hosts who will berate you over the slightest disagreement.

    • tatl33 says:

      Yeah, by argumentative I meant arguing in general. This includes debating, fighting, talking smack, etc. ENTP’s generally generally just find themselves in these situations more, would you agree?

  6. Ben says:

    Hey, ENTP here,

    I actually consider arguing a sport, My parents told me when i was a kid that i should be a lawyer, I think i drove them crazy by always arguing with them.

    ENTJs (like my roommate) also love to argue, one time we argued over the definition of intelligence from 11PM until 5:30 AM, no joke.
    it was actually kinda cool, by the end we came to an agreement and I actually felt like I gained a lot of perspective on what it meant to be “smart”

  7. ENTPgurl says:

    This post almost made me pee my pants. I had the same experience as another ENTP…parents told me I argued so much that I should be a lawyer–and I almost went that route! But too much work for my P liking.😉 As for never admitting that we are wrong, well, that’s because in our eyes we just didn’t get to finish the argument yet! All the other types tire out before we’re done. I swear to you, only another ENTP can get an ENTP to just give in out of fatigue. I have enjoyed many a night debating random subjects. Now I am married to an ENTP and we have a daughter who looks like she may be an ENTP/ENFJ…and let me tell you, boy can she talk back! Now I know what others found so annoying in me all these years!!

  8. Karo says:


  9. Tali Deals says:

    u know I think my dad is an ENTP or something similar….he always criticizes everything , argues about everything, and never ever stops. You can’t even use the mouse on your laptop instead of a separate mouse without him saying something nasty about it. Like my other ENTP friend he is good at tinkering with things that need to be fixed but other than that, he is restless and needs to be doing something all the time. or being super critical about everything under the sun

Post a comment below

