Which MBTI type is the most likely to commit suicide?

Suicide: “The act of killing yourself.”

This topic may be quite depressing for some of you, but this topic has also often been discussed, and many people would like to know the answers. After discussion with some people, I have come to the conclusion that INFP’s are most likely to commit suicide.

The first reason is that introverts hold a more pessimistic view towards the world, compared to the optimistic extroverts. Whilst extroverts discuss their feeling with others, introverts bottle them inside them, which slowly destroys their self confidence and attitude towards life.

Intuitive people are far more likely to commit suicide. Let’s think about this more closely. Sensors follow rules, and they do not see all their alternatives. On the other hand, intuitive people take a more creative approach, and you would be thinking of them when you hear of a tradgic unheard of death in the newspaper (for example, man jumps off London Bridge.)

Now this part is the easiest. The reason that most people commit suicide is to escape the horrible emotions that they are experiencing, which is definitely more strong in feelers. Feelers are far more easily hurt, and are typed as “crybabies” and get “upset over nothing.” Feelers get depressed a lot easier, which leads to suicide.

Perceivers think spontaneously, whilst judgers think about how their actions will affect the future. Perceivers do not think about what will happen in the future (they don’t get to live the rest of their life!) Judgers are a lot more careful with their decisions and the future consequences of their choices.

From this information, it is clear that INFP’s are the most likely to commit suicide. Both Romeo and Juliet from Shakespeare’s famous play were INFP’s, explaining why they were the perfect characters for his dramatic dramatization.

Which MBTI do you think? Leave your opinion in the comments section below!

About tatl33

Hello, my name is Tim! I am an INFJ interested in psychology currently residing in Australia. My aim is to provide you with information on MBTI and how it can be related to real life situations. Enjoy :)
This entry was posted in INFP and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to Which MBTI type is the most likely to commit suicide?

  1. Samuel Brown says:

    Do you mean self-suicide or against other people?

    • tatl33 says:

      Suicide:
      “The act of killing yourself.”
      So any act of suicide (shooting yourself, stabbing yourself, jumping off a cliff, poisoning yourself….etc.)

  2. Pingback: [ISTP] Suicidal thoughts?

  3. david says:

    i too have reached this same conclusion. nice. poor infp’s.

  4. acerbusvenator says:

    I came to that conclusion as well.
    I think that INTPs can be number 2 tho.

    I think it’s that information bounce between Fi and Ne.
    We act on our values and then people seem to disslike it so our Ne starts to come up with ideas why and then our Fi makes us think that they are offending our core-values and this is supported by Te and Ne.
    And lastly our Fi thinks that we should deal with the issue that has become us by removing ourselves from the equation.

    • tatl33 says:

      I’d have to agree that most IXXP types have the hardest time. A study showed that ISFP’s are the most likely to be depressed- everyone believes that IXXP’s are the most likely to suffer from suicide, etc. Maybe it has something to do with an introverted judging function as your dominant?

    • Lachlan Wragg says:

      @acerbusvenator really just wanted to mention how much I relate to what you said there as an INFP :P
      Thanks for that. heh

      Like seriously.. its crazy how accurate that feels.

  5. ME says:

    Well this explains everything…

  6. JebiusEnvy says:

    “Perceivers do not think about what will happen in the future (they don’t get to live the rest of their life!)”

    Disagree with this because Intuition lies in the future and sensing lies in the present so therefore INFP’s do think about what will happen in the future. Because of this I think ISFP’s are more likely to commit suicide than INFP’s because they are unable to focus on the future and only see the physical like suicide being a physical act. INFP’s are usually less concerned the physical act and more so with the complex. Although I think INFP’s are more likely to have suicide ideation but will never act upon it.

    • acerbusvenator says:

      Not exactly, tho I don’t completely disagree.
      INFPs are guided by Ne and Si.
      This makes them focused on the past and possibilities in the present. “Things have been hell so far, but look at what we can do with what we got”
      ISFPs are guided by Se and Ni.
      This makes them act in the present for the good of the future, “I might have been through the worst, so If I kill myself I will miss out on the good”.

      SPs and NJs are focusing on future and present. (What happens, what might it lead to?)
      SJs and NPs focus on the past and present. (what has happened, what can we do?)
      (tho that’s really basic and stereotypical)

      If anything, then NPs and SJs are the people most likely to commit suicide. Tho what’s more important is the mental stability of the person and their will to live and that doesn’t have to do with MBTI.

      Tho I’ve heard a lot of suicidal thoughts from INJs…

      • Ben says:

        Ya but this Se Ni thing could work out in the opposite way too. They might Think, i don’t want to deal with the future (Ni) so i’ll kill myself now (Se).
        Also, INFP might be more likely to see away out of their situation (using extroverted intuition), whereas an ISFP is more likely to feel trapped.

        Also, Vincent Van Gogh was a ISFP (not that this really proves anything, but it’s kinda interesting).

      • Clare says:

        I’m INFJ, and while I can confirm that we can have suicidal thoughts, the J certainly keeps me from ever acting out suicide for precisely the reasons listed above.

        • Lochy says:

          This makes me wonder which types don’t struggle with it? Because it’s not like depression and emotional difficulty doesn’t afflict most humans in difficult circumstances ?

          • tatl33 says:

            I think all types struggle with suicide. I think some types do handle depression better than others, but in saying so I do not wish people to think their fate is dependent on their MBTI types. This blog is “most likely to..”, not “most certain to..” after all, especially with such a serious issue.

        • tatl33 says:

          I’m sorry to hear that. If you want to talk to me feel free to email me.
          I really hope you don’t ever act on those thoughts!

  7. io oi says:

    Maybe the types *sfj s…

  8. Calliopé (INFP) says:

    Dear all, as an INFP, this question often comes up through my mind. My internal emotions are so deep and it is so easy to fall in this “dark hole”; I have to continuously fight against my dominant Fi. But, on the other hand, as an INFP, I have a second dominant function, that is Ne. It seems to me that, with the years (I am 33), this function is as grown and mature as my Fi. My Ne is very reliable and easily accessible to me. So, when I face dreadful events, instead on focusing on the bad side of things, I seek to find alternatives and solutions, and I am very good at extracting myself from bad situations. People say that I am ‘resourceful’, which is true. So, to me, only INFPs who have not learned to use their Ne effectively might be more at risk to face deep states of despair. I am a lawyer, not a psychologist doing quantification studies, so I cannot tell about the link between INFPs and suicide, but this would be worth being quantified/investigated. Intuitively, I would say there might be a correlation out there. Finally, I personally note that ISFPs also have this “dark hole” at hand and, as far as I can see, I have observed that the Se function is less useful than the Ne function for getting out of a bad situations; what I mean is that my ISFP friends are not as able as I am to find exit and side paths. But, again, this is purely subjective and I might be very wrong as well. Best regards, Calliopé

  9. Daniel says:

    I’m an INFP. I’d have to agree that we might be more prone to suicide since I had problems with suicide before.

    • Daniel says:

      However, I disagree with some of your points. I constantly think about the future. INFP’s actually tend to do that, since we will spend a lot of time thinking about the *ideal* life. It’s just the way in which we go about thinking about the future which is different. It’s true that we may not pay attention to thinking about how our realistic future will be like and planning our current life to be what that will be, but we do think of our future. Thinking about future is part of being an Intuitor, I think. The Percieving vs. Judging determines how one goes about thinking of the future. The judger will make decisions to help their future, the perceiver will often just think about it. The NFP will think about how the ideal future would be, the NTP will think about the realistic future. The NFJ will make actions and planning to cause the ideal future, the NTJ will make action to make the realistic future.

      • Daniel says:

        So I would say it’s the sensors who won’t think about future. The sensors just the a single piece to a puzzle and focus on that, the intuitors will see the entire puzzle, since we make connections between things occurring. This puzzle being life of course

      • tatl33 says:

        That’s a great point, NFP’s do think about the future, just not as action orientated as judgers, even though they often have better ideas to implement.

    • tatl33 says:

      Sorry to hear that Daniel, I hope your issues are in the past now

  10. FUCK YOU says:

    “The first reason is that introverts hold a more pessimistic view towards the world, compared to the optimistic extroverts. Whilst extroverts discuss their feeling with others, introverts bottle them inside them, which slowly destroys their self confidence and attitude towards life.”

    Absolute bullshit. Pessimism and optimism are not inherent qualities to those personality traits and as such differ greatly among individuals/experiences/cultures. It just so happens that some cultures, that may come off as favouring extraversion and putting down introversion, would have one think this. You are an absurd idiot who does not know how to analyze and question. I hope you DIE.

    -an angry suicidal fucked up infp. bite me.

    • tatl33 says:

      Thank you for your constructive feedback. I particularly appreciated the part where you told me to “bite” you and called me an “absurd idiot.” If you wish to further wrongfully analyze my entries and draw incorrect conclusions about what I am saying on introversion/extroversion and optimism/pessimism, please feel free to do so. Unfortunately, it will be a one sided argument :P

  11. Mr ENTP says:

    Fi types internalize their feelings and inferior Fe types rationalize everything so I would say FJs and TPs have lower risk. IFPs are in the danger zone. TJs are too busy to waste time into it.

    I have been depressed but never suicidal. My Ne+Ti likes to figure out lots of possibilities to commit one in a very nonserious way. Darwin Awards, here I come!

    • tatl33 says:

      Good on you Mr ENTP for sticking through the depression. ENTP’s have such a gift to offer into this world, I applaud you for wanting to use your gifts!

      I agree with everything you said- FJ’s are also more expressive about their suicidal feelings, and T’s are generally more resilient. I can definitely understand what you mean by the IFP ‘danger zone.’

  12. Strange says:

    You can put anything into a box, really. Here’s an example: ENFPs are generally known to be “the most optimistic” type, which is pretty odd if you study socionic as well because then you’ll know that they are a “negativist” rather than a “positivist”.

    For the sake of the argument though, I would say that INFPs are the most prone to have suicidal thoughts and ideation, contemplating it over and over again rather than actually committing it successfully in one go. Unless you have attempted it yourself, committing suicide is actually harder than you think.

    I also think suicide can be rather sudden and precipitous for SPs, depending on the severity of the circumstance they face. A socially active ESFP grounded for getting bad grades and forced to stay at home for a whole month just to study and not allowed to play and or have little access to any form of entertainment could end up just as suicidal as, or perhaps even more so than a very depressed INFP.

    • tatl33 says:

      I agree- it really depends on whether or not some area of their personality- a vulnerable area- is being attacked. For example, an Fi type may have their values attacked, or themselves attacked, and start questioning themselves. Or boredom with their Se, as you said, would result in bad consequences for an ESFP type.
      Can you think of any examples for, say, an INTP?

      • Strange says:

        Interesting question. I could think of a lot, many of which you’d probably know already or have figured it out yourself.

        The first thing that popped into my mind though, is intellectual stagnation. I think it’s always bad for an INTP to have to endure a long period of it for whatever reasons. But then again, this might just apply to all NTs as well, in general. I could be wrong though.

        What do you think though?

        • tatl33 says:

          I agree that NT’s, particular INTP’s would definitely suffer the most intellectual stagnation. The question is: does this lead to them being most likely to commit suicide?
          I would argue no, however I’m sure many would argue otherwise. I’d say that emotional situations lead to suicide more often than intellectual stagnation, and hence Fi. What do you think? Prove me wrong, im in for a debate :D

          • Anonymous says:

            I’ve been getting emails about this topic a long time and finally found my place to jump in! :P

            Basically I totally agree with what your saying, me (INFP) and girlfriend (INTP) have both been through a lot, but I would say her tough emotional environment and circumstances heavily influences those negative and suicidal even, feelings.
            With any type you can take away what they enjoy (ESFP) = friends, parties etc..
            and whatever else..
            but I would say threat to their basic survival and being cared for are essentials that greatly affect their emotional condition and come way before what they enjoy to do.
            This is just my experience though :P

            Fi is a pain in the ass for me and those around me.. trust me :P

          • tatl33 says:

            I definitely agree with you! Have you heard of the psychological theory of the hierarchy of needs? If you haven’t already, you should check that out- it’s amazing how in line with what you say about being cared for/basic survival is with this theory!

          • lochy says:

            Thanks for agreeing with me ;)

            I have not studied it intensely, but may have heard of the theory before?

            hhah you could just say I’m good at observing things :P
            I see other people earlier mentioning how terrible it would be to be locked in a room studying or something etc.. that causes people to feel this way.
            But through my experiences it takes something much greater to affect their emotional stability or at least a bunch of little things that add up to making life unbearable.
            Also, having support and actually using that support has great influence too =]

            random side note: was looking at cats with my girlfriend today. it was fun.. :P

          • tatl33 says:

            Interesting! What do you think would make you lose your emotional stability?
            And haha love the random side note! What cat did you end up getting?
            You should look into it- I reckon you’d put the theory to good use! :D

          • lochy says:

            hah good question.

            I think for me being an INFP and a type 2 in the enneagram system. (which may be fairly relevant here)
            I think when I lose or don’t have ‘love’ or support from others. Due to close relationships being something very central to my inner being.
            When I feel totally alone it just feels like there’s no reason for me being here kinda thing, which has certainly been the case in the past, but having just this 1 steady relationship has done huge amounts for my health and depression is mostly a thing of the past (kinda)
            So I would say relationships n stuff is what mostly affects my emotional stability.

            What’s yours? :P

            hah I feel thats a very INFP side note.. :P
            I am a very typical infp sometimes :P

            umm.. we haven’t gotten anything yet just looking at our options :P
            but thinking the ragdoll breed was fairly high on our list ;)

            you into cats? :P

          • tatl33 says:

            I would agree that relationships would affect my emotional stability a bit too. I think personally it’s more about where I am in life though as a 4w3 on enneagram I care about my identity and getting where I wanna go. When that’s threatened, that would affect me most. Hahahaha I’m more into dogs only because I’ve had a dog. What about you, are you into cats? :P

          • Anonymous says:

            hmm.. so reckon it really is an enneagram question?
            i.e when your greatest desire or need is threatened you just lose it :P
            thus why its different for everyone more or less.

            cats are the way to go man.. so soft and furry.. and cuddly.. :P
            yes, cat person :P

            love the side convo ;)

            in true INFP stereotype. im trying to sign up for a counselling course, need to do something with my life :P

          • tatl33 says:

            I reckon it can be both. I reckon enneagram probably more so, which I wish I could cover on this site often! :P
            Like type 1s when they fail, two when they don’t get appreciation, 3 when they aren’t successful, 4 identity crisis, 5 lack of inspiration for knowledge/withdrawl from world going crazy, type 6 dangerous/risky situations they get into, 7 not happy, 8 powerless and 9 no harmony- this list basically describes what I think can lead different types to sadness or eventually depression/suicide. What do you think?
            Hahha yeah the side convo is awesome :p cats are pretty damm awesome I must admit! So I’m guessing that’s your dream pet?

          • Anonymous says:

            hah who says you cant?
            suppose it is ‘mbtitype’ :P
            laaame!

            ive found they both work together in such a way that i dont like to separate them.
            or maby thats just me :P

            it makes sense to me =]
            pfft 7’s.. not happy.. im guessing thats the type of all the people i dont like :P

            hah they are pretty cool =]
            hah my dream pet is something or someone that hugs me back ;)
            hhee

            for another side note, stupid phone got stuck in a boot loop with seriously important stuff on it.. messing with ramdisks n all sorts of things to get it to work.
            but i probably shouldnt get away from the main topic too much :p

          • tatl33 says:

            Well I wrote a few enneagram articles :) type in “Which MBTI type enneagram ” on Google and find out about which ever type you want! I’m interested in your input since you’ve given me a lot of interesting responses so far :D

            If you want something that hugs you back, maybe try a koala? ;) I would import one to you from Australia, although I think it could be illegal!

            Hahaha I like these side conversations, did you get it fixed?

          • lochy says:

            hah im really not that smart :P
            my friend has a lot more knowledge about both topics.

            hah i already live in australia :P
            forgot if i mentioned that already or not ?

            hha they do keep things interesting ;)
            did everyone else give up? :P
            kinda.. saved a few things.. lots some really important stuff tho, so that was a bit sad.. spent like 15 hours trying to fix it :P

            hows things ? :P

          • tatl33 says:

            I don’t think you mentioned that to me! But that’s awesome :) always good to find another Aussie on here to chat with! I often feel like there aren’t many Australian’s who are aware of MBTI, but then I meet some people such as yourself who convince me otherwise!

            15 hours is a long time! I feel for you!
            Things are good for me! I’m starting my bachelor of psychology degree at University of Queensland this year, so I’m looking forward to that :) I’ve joined several clubs, probably too many, but I just wanna try them all out and see which ones I enjoy! How about you? :P (And another side conversation, love them!)

          • Lochy says:

            Hah mmk, yep, down in melbourne =]

            I know a few people involved with it, I’m actually starting to help others older than me who are finally discovering the wonders of MBTI and enneagram and its hard to try and guide them down the right path, some find it easy to instruct others with this stuff, but because for me its been such a personal experiance of self discovery i struggle to tell others their type, other than just sending em to places where i found useful information.
            I guess that’s just my experiance of it. my girlfriend being intp, shes really good with typing people and the intellectual side of it of course :P
            shes a few years younger than me, but so much smarter :P
            i like to balance it out by saying i have a bigger heart, im the emotional one in the relationship :P

            stuff those gender roles ey? :P

            oh wow nice, i grew an interest for deep psychology near the end of school, but stayed away from the intense academic side of it. i much prefer to cover the personal aspects of human interaction.
            i was never that smart or focused on work so i prefer to just connect with people and hope i can turn that into a job ;)
            so i started my counselling and family therapy studies ;)

            im really struggling with focusing on my work of course, after talking with my girlfriend, im just gonna say she’s kenna, makes it easier, hope you can remember ;P

            she’s looked into ADD type stuff and i think we both might have it, due to our difficult with study and remaining focused on a task.
            so thats an interesting mix :P

            its pretty much all side convo now ;)
            we could take this to skype or something else if you wanted, then continue with relevant comments on your site :P
            sorry about that :P

            hope to hear from you again soon =]

          • tatl33 says:

            Sorry for the late reply! :) Sounds good! What’s your Skype? Or maybe don’t post it on WordPress for the world to see, message me it haha

            And yeah I agree with you about the human interaction side. I sometimes feel like I have to force myself through the academic side to get to the personal aspect. I find MBTI to be a break from the intense stuff, yet in many ways more relevant to the field of psychology than some of the intense stuff. What do you think? :D
            Haha yeah screw gender roles! I’ve never dated a girl who is a T type, what’s that like?

          • Lochy says:

            she comes up with a lot of theories and she said she has a relativity high Fe which might help you understand a little bit :P
            she tries to intellectualise her feelings a bit, and generally has to think about her feelings to really experience them if t hat makes sense.
            and she obviously has a hard time expressing her feelings.

            hey i actually found you on perc :P
            so we could start there ;)

            of course anyone interested in mbti is gonna be on perc, so i went looking :P

            hah im not totally sure i understood you.. but sure ! ;)
            i think theres an interesting balance with this kind of psychology and intellectual vs personal(emotional) side of things.
            which i will touch on a bit more with the next question.

            so i was talking to her at the time you sent it and asked her what ‘our’ experience is ;P
            so she helped me formulate a bit on what its like to be INTPish i guess? :P

            she said she comes up with a lot of theories and actually has a relatively high Fe so is actually still questioning INTP, she used to think she was INFP then found she didnt have Fi so ended up as INTP :P
            (she also thought the addiction page was interesting so she might actually end up commenting on that sometime if push her a little :P)

            she also tries to intellectualise her feelings a bit, and i guess has to think about her feelings to really experience them if that makes sense to you. (it doesn’t so much to me as a strong F :P )
            and obviously has a hard time expressing her feelings and a bunch of other stuff, she also seems to have J traits with planning and stuff, but is bad at following through (my area maby? :P)
            but is probably not INTJ due to not having high Ni (probably)

            =]

          • tatl33 says:

            That’s awesome! I’m very grateful for your girlfriends input on the INTP type, since I reckon it’s perhaps the most interesting type :D
            Yes! Sorry for the late reply by the way, I’d lost access to my WordPress account! It would be great to continue our chat :)
            That’s awesome that you are enjoying the site and that she is considering looking at it! As an active contributer on this site for a while now, do you have any feedback about the site or any particular areas you want me to focus on next?
            Also, how do you and your girlfriend interrelate being that your the more “mushy” one and she’s the more rational one? :)

          • Lochy says:

            Hheh thank you =]
            she has lots of information to offer ;)
            we talk about mbti stuff nearly everyday :P it honestly doesn’t get boring so much to discuss n stuff, enneagram too.
            hahh we laughed together about ‘the most interesting type’ part :P
            we were looking at a percy survey that showed out of 14k people who were in it. no ESFJ’s were type 5’s. so she jokingly commented about them being dumb :P
            as well as various other comments about INTP’s generally being the smarter ones?
            im bad at remembering details :P
            i need to try and convince her to come here to speak for herself. but its not easy :P
            (shyness i think? public stuff etc.. :P)

            heh glad to have you back! missed you buddy =]
            and continue we shall =]

            indeed, its been good =]
            lots of information and someone to make it interesting :P

            well i guess its helpful that your so open and able to engage in all sorts of communications here. so your doing well with that.

            errm.. im not too sure. this comment system can be a bit of a hassle, not too much you can do about it though :P
            might have to think about it more.. got nothing for you atm sorry :P

            so thats an interesting and rather complex question.
            its not that simple and not always true that im the more mushy one. all i know is that we get along as friends and equals. i think that helps. especially with an INTP, we don’t feel unbalanced. ‘equally yoked’ one might say.
            theres always interesting stuff to talk about and thats pretty much all we do :P
            been looking more recently at trying to play games together as something else to do for more bonding. but we really just spend most of our time talking, either about emotional/deep/personal stuff, or about internet stuff: music/youtube/mbti/enneagram/family/friends/religious stuff/psychology? lots of things ;P

            so yer.. i might have to ask her for more details, as thats more in the data/information area, so i think it’d be better if she gave me some answers or came here herself :P
            might have to wait a bit sorry :P

            hope all is well dude =]

          • tatl33 says:

            Sorry for another really late reply. How have you been since we last talked? I haven’t forgotten you, I was locked out of my account by WordPress again. (It keeps happening on and off). I’m thinking about transferring to another site but I think that would get rid of all my content!
            That would also get rid of the annoying WordPress comment system you were talking about.
            Haha she might be right! I don’t get too many ESFJ’s types on here so maybe it’s the INTP’s who are the smartest (don’t tell any ESFJ’s I said that! :P)
            That’s interesting, and I bet that would be a good relationship since the two of you balance each other out. Most relationships I know have the more mushy F type and more level headed type- and I’m talking the really long lasting relationships here.
            Haha that relationship of music/youtube/psychology stuff sounds like my relationship with INXX girls that I’ve dated. It must be the whole IN connection :)
            I’m doing good now that I’ve finally got my account back thanks! :D I hope all is good for you too!

          • lochy says:

            hah i missed you dude :P
            been a while :P

            ermm.. well i finished my essays, which i think i said i was worried about at some point.
            teacher said im doing well, so thats pre sweet. mum was happy to hear that ;)

            some things good, some not so good. eh.. :P

            booo.. i kinda do think if possible a change would be good, for a small site this may have worked. but i have 2 tabs open just to reply, because i have one with your comment and another with the reply box, cause the reply is at the bottom and it wont attach the reply box to the actual comment, its rather silly and makes it somewhat of a pain to reply ;P
            a quick google mentions possible ways of importing your site to somewhere else. so think about it sometime :P see whats possible. =]

            hah i have an esfj friend. he’s actually pretty smart, hehe
            i suppose you could say ‘generally’ intp’s have fairly high intelligence i suppose ?

            i think so, we both have emotional difficulties and instabilities, so that can make things difficult.
            but when we are at our best and not feeling sad or down about something, then we get along really well. so when we are doing well and are happy, we blend perfectly and can share those times n stuff.

            hah ye its kinda like that, all the girls you’ve dated ey? such a stud :P
            she mentioned earlier that we practically never run out of things to talk about, so thats nice =]
            i think thats why its important to share a fair amount of similarities, where as some dating mbti sites ‘recommend’ types that are quite different, but for me anything too different i cant get along with. so i think a good blend of similar but different is needed, that seems to work best. rather than someone who’s always going to be challenging you.

            hah hope you can keep it this time ;)
            i ended up finding my way to the world of reddit recently, getting involved there.
            i kinda get bothered by having to explain the ‘science’ or ‘validity’ of mbti and its usefulness.

            would making a post about the purpose and ‘evidence’ for mbti fit within this site?
            having something quotable that i can use to just send to them to explain why its not totally rubbish and why it actually works and makes sense, i do know some have found it difficult, but for me i can totally see its value, in the connections and understanding you can gain through it.
            anyways, just a thought :P
            any info you can pull up on the general idea of mbti and why its worth looking into, i suppose the answer would only come out as a subjective answer :P
            oh well.. heh

            thanks dude.
            talk again soon =]

          • tatl33 says:

            Yeah it has been a while! Missed you too :P
            OH nice job on your essay! What was your essay about?
            Yeah you are so right about all your suggestions about what I need to change… I probably could import everything over, at the same time I’ve heard a lot of horror stories about it, such as losing all your traffic on Google as well as lots of glitches that can occur. So I don’t know, if I can find a way to import somewhere better without problems so people can comment easier I will use that! :)
            I wrote an article explaining which MBTI type is most intelligent. You should show it to your INTP girlfriend! See if she agrees!
            Haha yeah owning this site makes me irrisistable to the ladies :P
            I agree with you. From what I’ve learnt from MBTI and dating:
            -If you are with someone who is a similar type to yourself, you will find that you will both continue to grow further into your type. So INTP+INFP for example, you would both grow into your types a lot more, particularly the INXP part.
            -If you are dating someone with opposite types, you’ll generally find they in some ways may fulfill areas you aren’t good at, but usually they challenge you to meet them halfway- aka ESFJ and INTP, the ESFJ challenges the INTP to become more ESFJ and so they become more rounded but also less what they were naturally supposed to be.
            So basically, any relationship can work but opposites relationships can change you a lot. I find the relationships that usually fail are the ones where one type changes the other person too much (in both their personality and other areas). What do you think?
            That would be a really good idea lochy! I’d like to create a different style of blog entry. My blog entries are becoming very routine, so it’d be good to mix things up. Good thinking dude! :D

          • lochy says:

            heh you missed me toooo? ;)
            hah well.. it was about psychology, theology and worldview stuff. i dont even remember anymore :p
            explaining various concepts to the client in the scenario i think.

            hah im always right :P
            i could try and keep looking, find some ways for a seamless import just to make posting easier as well as displaying the information you have to offer.

            hha she will totally reply on that sometime :P
            still working on it :P

            hahh i bet it does ;)
            do you actually talk to your friends much about it? or is it more of just a hobby you do away from those that you know?
            would you call yourself a private person?

            hmm.. would you say there is a better way to do things?
            i suppose some infps might be more willing to change or be challenged than i might be, so maby some infps are suited for esjfs, and some are for intps :P

            i think bending people too much can hurt them, other wise you just mold them into whatever suits you, i think some ‘blending’ will happen as you grow used to each other and fuse together in a way, some couples will do this more than others.
            im just gonna call the balance card, different amounts of blending will work differently for people.

            heh thats me ;)
            i think i do come up with new ideas like that sometimes, my Fi and Ne hard at work :P
            i didnt really aim to shake up your routine however :P
            but having some material on the purpose and validity of this system can be helpful. having something to refer to and reasons why its worth listening to even if it isn’t all proven fact.
            it still has value.

            so my question, i was looking at infj functions, and i noticed your leading with Ni, i really wonder how that works for you, and how you see that working.
            Ni is one of the most mysterious functions and we wondered what that looks like as to give some understanding to Ni with someone dominated by it.
            we thought that the Ti might help to explain some of the Ni ‘impulses’ you might receive or something like that.
            let me know =]
            talk again soon =]

          • tatl33 says:

            That’d be great, although if I’m going to import the blog I’ll probably do it in a few weeks. I’m so busy currently! I appreciate the effort though :D

            Haha sounds like a lot of work to get someone to post a comment :P
            Talking about MBTI with friends you mean? Not regularly. Most of my friends are interested in psychology (since I do a psychology degree of course they would be :P) but the school doesn’t teach anything on MBTI, so they don’t really care. If I’m really having difficulty figuring out someones type, I make them do the test and say ‘heres a fun test you should try it out.’ :D I also make sure a girl that I’m interesting in completes it, and if she’s not NFP my interest drops (I know that sounds so stupid but I cant help it!)
            I’d say I have always been a private person. I’d say there’s some things I just keep to myself. What about you?
            infps suited for esfj’s? Pffttt :P
            Oh I completely agree! I think there’s like a small amount of bending in most relationships though which is sorta necessary (or at least bending for when you and your partner are together) although you are definitely right too much can’t be good!
            Hahha gee! you infp’s and your routine shaking!
            The way I look at the Ni versus Ne. It is analytical/future orientated versus creative/spontaneous. Predicting things is perhaps the funnest part of Ni. Saying i told you so, based on some theory that you had in which you predicted it to be true is another thing, although that could also be other types as well.
            But everything else aside, I guess what really defines Ni is they usually always have an agenda in mind. Right now, for example, my agenda is to get to know you (using my Fe as well), get to know what makes you an Fi (using my Ti) and provide a response to your answer (By the way, see how much more structured my writing is in blogs compared to many Ne types? It’s the same Ni pattern over and over again.)
            What about you? What would you say about being an Ne type? :)
            Talk soon Lochy!

          • lochy says:

            hah sure, no rush i suppose.
            another search, http://en.support.wordpress.com/export/
            use an export to backup the wordpress site before trying to move anywhere, one possbility was tumblr, depending on your like or dislike of it. you can set some things up and customise it a little bit.
            so have a look at that maby.

            hahh it does sound simple doesn’t it? ;)
            she’s anything but simple.. hehe
            shes just got a lot of other stuff going on, personal/family.
            so she’ll get there eventually i hope =]

            heh we talk about it fairly often, seeing its what connected us in the first place i guess. it feels like theres just always something new to learn, or some idea to consider.
            pfft everyone doing psychology should cover mbti in detail i say! :P
            but seeing the many various methods, over 400 types of therapy they say, or models of therapy?
            i cant even remember ;P
            400 somethings :P
            (thats a lot of somethings ;))

            point is, theres a lot to cover and cognitive functions are only a small part of that, some see something like behaviourism as a better option, i really dont like it because it purposely ignores all forms of intuition or subconscious inner being. which is where a lot of functioning and processing happens imo.
            so to completely avoid it and just go straight for whatever you can see or observe i think is a bit silly ;)
            but thats just me, our teachers tell us about using an eclectic method which is just taking a bit from everything, or being able to work from different sides of therapy i guess.
            hah i feel bad for making people do tests because of how unreliable they are, cause they often end up lost and need more explaining. i would prefer to just talk to them and find out their experiences which you could then try to put a general type to.
            using their own brains to process their behaviour to try to find a type or something.

            hmm mostly yes, having a girlfriend though, pretty much tell her everything.
            and if im hiding something, i should probably tell her :P
            but with everyone else i am probably more on guard, i wont bother getting into the specific ways i share information and with exactly who gets what :P
            just using Fi to say, it just is.. dont wanna explain it, my internal values knows how it all works. ill leave it to him to work it out :P
            i think often i dont like explain Fi stuff, sometimes it even feels physically difficult or painful to be forced to explain an internal value or feeling.
            another thing is that im really bad with my own emotions, often when asked how do i feel i am unable to answer, so thats been a really difficult point for me, i am still able to focus on others emotions and connect to them, but when it comes to my own i just cant do it :P
            possibly a 2 thing ‘we’ think.
            just thought id bring up some recents thoughts cause i can :P

            hha i think thats what they say ;)
            duality and all that, interestingly theres this esfj at the course im doing. shes married and 26.
            she seems to just really know me and get me tho, so thats pretty cool. she just seems to know without me having to explain a lot so thats nice, i can certainly see the benifits in that situation, with an understanding and caring esfj. however i think i would feel too pushed to do stuff by an e in a relationship, i would prefer to be with another ‘i’ so that we can bond together and share a deeper connection because i feel thats what i value most.
            we can then help eachother towards a healthier type of socialising without us being too disconnected because of our natural states of comfort if that makes any sense.
            gg.. :P

            oh noes! :P
            although i think i have somewhat of a ‘routine’ in the morning of a certain way i do things.
            although just saying that feels yucky.. like ive betrayed myself :P
            i feel much more comfortable just calling it an Fi value, with an emotional reasoning and attachment to a certain way or order of doing things.

            hmm.. a website i commonly go to is:

            http://www.cognitiveprocesses.com/Cognitive-Functions/Introverted-iNtuiting.cfm

            that seemed somewhat familiar to what you were mentioning, still don’t feel totally clear on how it works tho. somewhat of a confusing function.
            would this agenda be processed subconsciously?
            while writing this did you stop and ask yourself, whats my agenda? then it popped up,
            or is this just kinda always known to you.
            where do these thoughts or agendas come from and how do you interact with them, can you control them or change them. are they a stubborn value that feels emotionally difficult to move/change/ or resist.

            intp lady friend said Fe just makes everything fuzzy.. whereas infps can be quite blunt because we dont have the same type of understanding for social norms without Fe, our Fi can be quite blunt i.e we feel what we feel and thats just that :P
            depending on our social skills that can come out as judgement possibly?
            or just be quite rude to people who don’t feel comfortable with how we work i think?

            heh i think Ne just throws all these ideas out there, its up to me and my Fi to filter them and turn it into usable communication, as it can sometimes be quite difficult to keep up with my own Ne.
            so i guess my writing will be somewhat unorganised and just separated by thoughts.
            because of this i really struggle with connecting ideas at all.
            which is why everything is broken up into its own paragraph, not a single thought goes into connecting them to make a more formal piece of writing, its just
            thought -> reply
            thought -> reply.
            not,
            thought -> reply -> next thought -> reply
            as others work i think, make sense?
            thats just some of my Ne experiences :P
            i should sleep and prepare for my long long looonngg day.. :P
            get up at 730 after probably not sleeping much :P
            classes from 9-5.
            then work from 6-12.. walk home for an hour till 1.
            gonna be a rough day..

            anyways.
            hope to talk soon buddy =]

            i think my msgs got longer sorry :P
            cyas ;)

  13. Big surprise! Sometimes, I hate life and I hate myself. I want no pity or disparagement for thinking this way. Sometimes, I just want to stop existing. After all, no-one would care if I lived or died after you give or take a century or so. And yet, I want to live. It’s all very confusing. At least I can sort of blame it on my personality type? Sometimes, I think too much about things that I go crazy. Hm. Maybe I’ll write a blog post about that.

    • tatl33 says:

      Don’t blame it on your personality type though Dreamrambling!
      I know so many happy people of your type, and all types in general, don’t single it down to your MBTI! Worst mistake you can make is using your MBTI type as a guide as to your destiny in life
      If you have anything you want to talk about, I would more than happily be willing to listen :)

  14. Ben says:

    I think INFPs and ISFP might be the most likely to consider suicide and even attempt it.
    However it is one thing to attempt and another thing to actually commute suicide. It’s actually not easy to do at all, therefore i Think the most likely type to actually commute suicide is probably the INTP of the ISTP.

    Also, I think S types are probably more likely to consider and attempt because unlike the future oriented N, they are less likely to see a way out of their situation.

  15. Ivana says:

    Its just my luck I had to end up being an INFP… and I agree that we are the most sensitive and easily depressed…

    • tatl33 says:

      Remember, don’t use your type to justify your sadness though! The ‘most likely’ probably wouldn’t even give you a 2% greater rate of suicide than any other type! The correlation is very small. And if you surround yourself with what you love (people, hobbies, etc.) and look at getting professional help INFP’s can be the best type to be! :)

    • lochy says:

      being an INFP is great!
      once you get the hang of it ;)

      I had my depressive stages, then got ‘healed’.
      You might be experiencing the negative sides at the moment, that doesnt mean that’s all there is to being an INFP though, trust me on that if you can =]

      • tatl33 says:

        Hey Lochy :) how are you?

        • lochy says:

          err good man.. i guess :P
          been a while, those posts are getting cold and lonely up there :P

          • tatl33 says:

            Haha sorry man! I was dreaming of getting back on here throughout my stupid exams :P I made two new blog entries if you wanna read them, I need expert advice on the inanimate object one :P

          • lochy says:

            heh, exams went on that long?
            i guess i can read em at some point, tho i’d call my lovely intp friend more of an expert than me :p

          • tatl33 says:

            Studying for them did :P ohhhh yes I’m sitll waiting for that lovely INTP to finally visit haha

          • lochy says:

            hah fair enough.
            hehe ;)

            this isn’t the most.. inviting of places mostly just cause of the difficult comment structure ;)
            But we’ll see when we can take a look at it.
            She’s on a trip away atm.

            I’ll talk to her about it when she gets back :p

          • tatl33 says:

            Haha you aren’t getting used to it yet? :P

          • lochy says:

            nope :P

            mostly just the reply system i guess, cause i cant seem to reply without going from the email i get.
            there’s no reply button on your most recent comment.

            I understand moving would be a pain tho. just annoying i guess :P

          • tatl33 says:

            Yeah I get you! Is there a notification section for you? When you have a wordpress account you can reply via your notification thingy :P

          • lochy says:

            not really no.
            ahk.

            made a tumblr account, you could make things look pretty good there with themes n stuff.

            suppose we’ll have to put up with it for now :p

          • tatl33 says:

            Oh man, Tumblr soo confusing :P
            and i suppose so Lochy… not too much to handle is it? ;)

          • lochy says:

            hah cant be worse than this place :P

            maby.. :P

Post a comment below

